top of page
Search
  • lawsme

A Writer's Statement...My Beliefs about the Teaching of Writing


My very first class as a full-time graduate student was my Teaching Language Arts class. During the first class period we reflected on our past experiences with writing and where those positive and negative experiences occurred. Personally, I find reflection a useful tool as an individual and a professional because it helps us move forward and grow. After some discussion we were instructed to write a brief statement about what our core beliefs are about the teaching of writing. Below you will find my statement. As I move forward and develop as a writer and teacher of writing I am interested to see how my statement evolves. This initial post serves as a landmark of my writing journey.


My Statement:

"Teaching writing and teaching reading must go hand in hand. Students need to see examples and how the two relate to each other. For writing, I feel that students need equal amounts of direction and freedom. It is important that students understand that writing is a form of art and self-expression and that it can take many forms." -Jan. 16th, 2019




13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page