top of page
Search
  • lawsme

Taking a Stand

WOW! Children amaze me every day! Their bravery and beliefs give me hope for the future. Laminack and Kelly (2019) say it best, "Our experience has shown us that children see injustice more easily and more clearly than many adults do... Children believe they can make a difference in this big wide world. And we believe in children" (p. 84). This week I dove into Amal Unbound by Aisha Saeed and Malala, a Brave Girl From Pakistan/Iqbal, A Brave Boy From Pakistan by Jeanette Winter. I cannot wait to share these stories with my students so we can think deeply together about how we can make a positive impact on the world and take a stand about things that matter to us. Check out my NEW weekly book vlog with my friend and colleague Amber Mathis!




I have definitely added Aisha Saeed's other books to my reading list! You HAVE to go check out her website because it has such amazing resources for teachers who want to incorporate her books into their classrooms.


I am also excited to check out Jeanette Winter's other books especially Sisters, Venus and Serena Williams and Our House is on Fire, Greta Thunberg's Call to Save the Planet.


References


Laminack, L. L. & Kelly, K. (2019). Reading to make a difference. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page